RestoreOKC Youth Interns Receive Oklahoma Legacy Award - MetroFamily Magazine
MetroFamily Magazine

Where OKC parents find fun & resources

RestoreOKC Youth Interns Receive Oklahoma Legacy Award

Reading Time: 2 minutes 

A group of young people in Northeast Oklahoma City was recently recognized for their innovative solution to the community’s food desert. As interns with nonprofit RestoreOKC, the middle and high school students help manage RestoreFarms, maintaining gardens and marketing, selling and delivering the produce to businesses, chefs and those in need within the community. The paid internship program was born out of a desire to provide work for local teens, while also exposing them to a variety of career choices, empowering them to serve their community, teaching them entrepreneurial skills and providing the opportunity to gain college scholarships at one of the organization’s partner universities.

A group of RestoreOKC’s original student interns, along with Restore OKC Director Caylee Dodson and Assistant Farm Director Vinita Newman, were awarded the 2022 Lee Allan Smith Oklahoma Legacy Award by the Oklahoma Hall of Fame to recognize the long-lasting legacy they have created in Oklahoma City through their work with RestoreFarms. Interns accepting the award were: Markel Kendrick, Asa Williams, Keymonti Hammon, Kenzell Hammon, Elijah Jones, Erick Jones, Dewayne Amerson, Lela Johnson, Aniyah Johnson, Shylynn Davis, Phoebe Deason, Bailey Knight, DeYanah Mason, Jhada Roberts and Bianca Eddings

“The Oklahoma Hall of Fame is proud to honor a group of individuals that exemplify what giving back to one’s community is all about,” said Gini Campbell, vice president for the Oklahoma Hall of Fame. “Regardless of our age or where we are in life we all have something to give. We all can make a difference.”

Created by friends and colleagues of Lee Allan Smith, this award recognizes those who are ambitiously demonstrating volunteer and civic efforts that engage and grow pride in the community, creating a legacy of pride for future generations. Annually, an individual is recognized by the Oklahoma Hall of Fame who exemplifies the same spirit and characteristics that have shaped the life of Lee Allan Smith. Past award recipients include Meg Salyer, Justin Echols, J. Blake Wade, Bill Thrash, Edie Roodman, Jan Peery, Chip Fudge, Kari Watkins, Tricia Everest, Paul Massad and Bob Burke.

The Oklahoma Hall of Fame preserves Oklahoma’s unique history while promoting pride in our great state. Through each of its programs and the Gaylord-Pickens Museum, the Oklahoma Hall of Fame honors our state’s rich tradition by telling Oklahoma’s story through its people.

more stories

Verified by MonsterInsights